Still alive!

Hello everyone!

 

I apologize for the lack of posting in the last few weeks– we are INCREDIBLY busy here at camp. I am so blessed to be here and working with the people and the kids that frequent our camp. If you happen to follow my twitter feed, you’ll most often see tweets about how much I love camp and how ridiculously cool my job is. It is all of that and more. 

Most of you might know that I despise mornings. They’re so rough. Here, they arrive somewhere between 6:45-7:15 am. On a day off, probably by 9 or so, as not to get too comfortable with sleeping in. These times are a HUGE jump from my college days. Even when I had an 8am class I wouldn’t roll out of bed til 7:45. I know this is a sign of loving my job and being devoted to the service that our God has led me to. I still am not a morning person, but I’m getting better at getting out of bed and avoiding the snooze button! 

 The other fabulous thing about camp is I feel like I am truly living the life I was meant to live in all aspects. I feel so alive and blessed to be here and with these kids and I am constantly striving to be a better person. God has brought some beautiful individuals here and I am so grateful to be with them and learn from them and be allowed to influence them as well. 

So I suppose you all want to know what’s going on here– WELL! 

I chopped off 10 inches of my hair to donate to locks of love. It was really awesome to do it with my housemate, Maria, and to be able to make my 5th donation in 14 years to the program.

I’m currently blogging from our new office! Yes, my CG friends- it is finally done and we’re basically all moved in. It is a beautiful space and I love working in it! It is also nice for all of us to have some space to spread out AND have some retreatants in the building together.

I am working on a lot of things that freak me out INCLUDING HEIGHTS! Oh gosh, I jumped off a 23 foot platform to the ground and my waiting teammates. Talk about trust! So scary but I am so glad they were there to support me and encourage me to do it! All pictures are on facebook.

We’ve been working hard- lots of kids coming through and I am learning just as much as they are. My current favorite tree is the quaking aspen. We have some here at camp and the biggest quaking aspen grove is in Utah. It’s the largest living organism in the world. Yes, bigger than a whale. I’m also working on identifying invasive species such as buckthorn and honey suckle. Not the honey suckle vines, which are good, but the bushes. I’ve also learned a lot about my faith and Catholicism. This team has such a strong faith and I am blessed to be able to learn from them! 

That’s all I think for now. Shout out to Shane, who asked for one, and to all the CG people reading this– you are missed, loved and spoken of often here at camp! Know that you, and all my followers are prayed for regularly!

 

Peace, Beth

Leave a Reply

