2 more weeks

Hi everyone,

It’s 7 down 2 to go here at camp, which is simply insane. We have had 7.5 sessions already which means I have sang, danced, swam, ate with and shared my love of God with hundreds of kids. That is simply breathtaking!

This past week was hard for me, as we had to say goodbye to some of our fellow staff who needed to leave early for school and other circumstances. We have a song we sing here at camp entitled “bless us for the journey.” we usually sing it Thursday night at the conclusion of the Cassidy games to the kids, but we also sing it to departing staff. This week we sang it 3 times, which was tough. It was also tough to say a goodbye in the middle of the week and not let on to the kids that the entire staff had just been in tears while they were at free time. I think it speaks to how close our staff is though, to be so sad to see one of us leave. So Shane, Anna B, Anna M and Bridget– we miss you a TON already!

As I said before, it’s crazy to reflect on how far we’ve come this summer. I can see in myself my faith growth and know it will continue to grow as we head into the year round program. Before getting to camp I was at a crossroad in my faith when a wise campus minister challenged me to find the spark and not burn out in my faith so young in life. I tell this story to the older campers and many a staff member often and I am thrilled to have had such a great influence (amongst several others) that I can tell the staff and campers about here.

This will be another challenging week at camp as our staff slowly departs but there wouldn’t be growth without challenge. I am thrilled to be back in settler boy land and also pumped that the other settler boy cabin will also have a female co-counselor. I am also happy that we have already gotten close enough that the settler boy staff, as well as some others, will be coming together each night to pray a rosary, as some of us need strength in the rosary area. We will be offering them up for Jeff, our director who is entering the hospital this week to prepare for his bone marrow transplant on August 15. If we can add any additional prayers for you, please let me know!

Peace and love, (and sursum corda to any new SJA followers!)

Beth

Leave a Reply

