Back on main camp

Hello everyone!

Just a quick note to let you all know I am healthy, happy and very much alive!

As the summer progresses (can you believe it’s the middle of July?!) it is becoming harder and harder to gather the energy to blog on my breaks!

Last week was tough with some illnesses and injuries among the staff and some tough campers but I was continuously amazed by the energy and enthusiasm all my coworkers showed through it all! Everyone stepped up and I think it’s safe to say we’re all glad the week is behind us.

This week I am back on main camp! I am with the oldest trailblazer ladies, who are in 7th and 8th grade. They are super smart, easy going and go to sleep quicker than I ever did at that age! I have missed being in the middle of all the fun and am loving being back but I certainly miss the village as well.

The village has been blessed with some wonderful and beautiful campers this summer and I have learned as much from them as I (hopefully) am teaching them.

Everyone who knows me prior to camp would have probably been amused to see me all of yesterday. It started with a stream hike which involves walking through the creek in knee high boots. Unless of course you are a counselor like me and just wore your sandals. (The water felt AWESOME though!) We then put clay on our faces and got free facials haha! I looked a lot like PigPen from Peanuts haha. After that I helped with fishing and possibly might have accidentally let a fish die. I will aide in putting bait on the hooks an will take seaweed off of them but I refuse to touch the fish. Sorry, fish! Last night we had the water carnival and I helped with water dodgeball. Yep, pretty similar to what you’re thinking!

We are having a blast here and every time I begin feeling homesick, I remember how blessed I am to be here with all these beautiful people. Also, I get to come home on FRiDAY!!! I am eagerly anticipating these 48 hours in the eastern time zone and can’t wait to witness the wedding of my best friend Carolyn! It’s going to be awesome 🙂

Until then,
Peace, Beth

Leave a Reply

