Regular week

Hi friends and family,

We are starting to get in routine here. It’s been a little rough the past few days but I’m getting the hang of it.

My days are basically the same. My girls start waking up around 6-6:30, we get ready about 7:30, breakfast is at 8, cabin cleanup, morning praise and prayer then I’m on break from 9:50ish-11:50. Staff meeting at noon, lunch, siesta, then I have to do a choice time activity with each age group so we play games or chalk or do fashion shows. During this time I am also covering counselors on their breaks and making sure the kids are all accounted for Then free time, which is controlled fun in the main camp area and dinner. Then the nights get a little fun.

Sunday we do a campfire, Monday is water carnival, Tuesday is cookout and capture the flag, Wednesday is super crazy adventure time and thursday is Cassidy games, which is basically like a field day.

The campfire went well and the water carnival was a big hit due to the weather (I think extra swim time and a chance to hit counselors with water balloons contributed to that!) CTF was a tough loss as it was in overtime so we saw a couple tears from some of the little guys. They are now eagerly anticipating the Cassidy games to win something else!

Tonight we will be having a picnic dinner with another cabin and then have a very special cabin time where we will make thank you cards for people around camp (maintenance, the office, fr. Tim, and the kitchen crew) and sneak around delivering them. We will the surprise the girls with a snack of cookies and milk (which is a big treat because we usually don’t do night snack) and head to the chapel for devotions where Mo-T, one of the staff members, will talk to the girls about how we can show our love for God by praising him at Mass.

Our theme in our cabin this week is love. We have talked about loving ourselves, loving our friends and loving our parents. Tonight we will talk about loving God and tomorrow we will talk about loving people we don’t even know. I have a great devotion planned and I hope the girls like it as well.

As I said before, it’s been kindof a hard week getting accustomed to the routine of a regular camp week but I have no doubts that this is what I am supposed to be doing. I am working on seeing why God has put me with specific groups. Especially with my most challenging campers.

Please pray for my patience–I really need it!

Peace, Beth

Leave a Reply

